RSA (Pre-1994): Roodepoort Granted City Status

RSA (Pre-1994): Roodepoort Granted City StatusRSA (Pre-1994): Roodepoort Granted City Status
Form: Circular
By: ?
Date: 1977
Ref:  Laidlaw: 0867;
38.6 mmYellow Bronze14.1 gm$12

Edge: Plain.

Obverse: Against a roughened background, the coat of arms of the City of Roodepoort (left) and: “STAD / CITY / 1.10.77” (right). At the top in an arc: “ROODEPORT” followed by four concentric arcs round the central design merging into a single solid arc.

Reverse: Against a hatched cloth-like background, across: “ROODEPOORT / HAMBERG / FLORIDA / MARAISBURG”. Legend above: “26.8.1904 (left) 1.10.1977 (right)” and below between stops: “ROODEPOORT”.

Notes: Roodepoort municipality was formed in 1904 with the incorporation of the towns of Roodepoort, Hamburg, Florida and Maraisburg. This medal commemorated the granting city status to Roodepoort in 1977. Roodepoort has now been integrated into the City of Johannesburg Metropolitan Municipality.