RSA (Pre-1994): Ciskei Independence

RSA (Pre-1994): Ciskei IndependenceRSA (Pre-1994): Ciskei Independence
Form: Circular with pierced hole.
By: -
Date: 1981
Ref:  Laidlaw: 0112a;
38.1 mmBronze25.1 gm$12

Edge: Plain

Obverse: Coat of arms of the Ciskei with leopard supporters, bird crest and indistinct motto: “SIYAKUNQANDWA ZIINKWENKWEZI (we shall be stopped by the stars)”

Reverse: Across: “81 – 12 -04”. Legend on a raised bard above: “INKULEKO YECISKEI (independence of the Ciskei)” and below: “IMBASA / YOTHABATHA INXAXHEBA”

Notes: The medal commemorates the formation of the Republic of the Ciskei, a nominally independent black homeland for Xhosa-speaking people, created under apartheid legislation. It is located in the south east of South Africa and possesses a small coastline along the shore of the Indian Ocean. The capital was Bisho and its president was Lennox Sebe. Ciskei was reincorporated into South Africa in 1994 after the first post-apartheid elections.