RSA (Pre-1994): Independence of the Republic of the Transkei

RSA (Pre-1994): Independence of the Republic of the TranskeiRSA (Pre-1994): Independence of the Republic of the Transkei
Form: Circular with pierced hole at 12 o’clock.
By: -
Date: 1976
Ref:  Laidlaw: 0146;
30.5 mmBronze10 gm$8

Edge: Plain

Obverse: Coat of arms of the Republic of Transkei with leopard supporters, wicker basket crest and motto: “IMBUMBA YAMANYAMA (unity is strength)”

Reverse: Across:” 26 . 10 . 1976”. Legend: “UZIMELE WASE TRANSKEI (independence of Transkei)”

Notes: In 1959, the National Party government introduced legislation to create eight ethnically and linguistically divided homelands for black South Africans. As an implementation this policy, the Republic of the Transkie was created in 1976 to serve as a nominally independent homeland state for the Xhosa people. The region is bordered by the Umtavuma River in the north and the Great Kei River in the south, while the Indian Ocean and the Drakensberg Mountains of the landlocked kingdom of Lesotho served as Transkei's eastern and western frontiers respectively. The main city is Umtata.

In 1994 the country was reincorporated into South Africa, despite opposition from many of its citizens.